Entertainment

Time lapse video of the solstice lunar eclipse

Lunar Eclipse via Wikipedia
1.18Kviews

It hasn’t happened in 400 years but today a total eclipse of the moon coincided with the winter solstice, the shortest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere. This is the first time that this meeting has happened during the video age and William Castleman, an expert in photographic scientific subjects, caught the eclipse live on film.

For the view of the eclipse from Ireland, read our eclipse report, filed by our intrepid editor Darren McCarra, early this morning.

In this HD video Castleman captures the moon turn blood-red as the earth’s shadow pass over the surface of the moon.

Winter Solstice Lunar Eclipse from William Castleman on Vimeo. Visit William Castleman at his website.

The video was recorded at 1:10 AM EST (6:10 GMT) to 5:03 AM EST (10:03 GMT) from Gainesville Florida.

Additional reporting by Darren McCarra.
Feature image via Wikipedia author Captmondo

1 Comment

Leave a Response

Piers Dillon Scott
Piers Dillon-Scott is co-editor of The Sociable and writes about stuff he finds. He likes technology, media, and using the Oxford comma (because it just makes sense).