Social Media

Is Facebook letting you to choose who gets access to Facebook Messages next?

Facebook Messages
1.76Kviews

Facebook is, slowly, rolling out its new Facebook Messaging system but if you aren’t one of the lucky few that has been given access there is apparently a way to upgrade your account. Facebook users who already have access to the Facebook Messages have been given an, almost hidden, option to invite their friends to use the system.

To invite a friend Facebook users first have to open Facebook Messages and send a friend a regular direct message.

Once the message has been sent Facebook will then display a small link on the top right hand side of the screen that lets them “Invite [their friend] to Upgrade”.

Facebook Messages Invite Screen
Facebook Messages Invite Screen

After it has been clicked Facebook will then show a message saying that the invitee will be included in the next round of Facebook Message invites.

Facebook Messages Invitation Screen

We have no word of whether this actually works or if it simply a way for Facebook to calm eager users who don’t have access but from our tests it doesn’t seem to any faster than waiting for the automatic upgrade.

Let us know if this has worked for you

1 Comment

Leave a Response

Piers Dillon Scott
Piers Dillon-Scott is co-editor of The Sociable and writes about stuff he finds. He likes technology, media, and using the Oxford comma (because it just makes sense).